Gluten is a provided by most grains. It’s found in wheat, rye, barley, and triticale. This compound makes foods like pasta, cereals, and breadmaintain their shape and have the feel of glue.

Most people aspire to live a gluten-free life and may have to avoid some foodstuff to reduce this protein intake.Not all grainshave gluten, and so, is rice one of the gluten-free foods? Let’s find out.

Does rice contain gluten?

Rice is generally gluten-free and a great choice for sensitive individuals or people with celiac disease, an autoimmune illness caused by gluten. Still, some rice may not be gluten-free. This happens when ingredientscontaining gluten are added to it. Rice options that may contain gluten include;

  • Rice prepared with sauces
  • Rice that is pre-seasoned
  • Rice pilaf, which is made with orzo
  • Rice cooked with added ingredients or seasoning like soy sauce
  • Rice Krispies, made with malt that comes from barley

How is rice cross-contaminated?

Sometimes rice is cross-contaminated with gluten. This happens when rice is either grown, harvested, or processed in the same place as grains that have gluten, for example rye, barley, or wheat. Another way rice can get cross-contaminated is when it mixes with other grains in the grocery store.

What are the gluten-free rice types?

Whether it’s whole grain brown rice, long-grained white rice, or the polished version, all plain rice are gluten-free, and they include;

  • Red rice
  • Black rice
  • Sprouted rice
  • Jasmine rice
  • Basmati rice
  • Brown rice
  • White rice

Is glutinous rice gluten-free?

When you hear about glutinous rice, you may think it contains all the gluten in this world. Surprisingly, this type of rice has zero content of gluten. Glutinous rice, also known as sweet or sticky rice, has this name because it feels sticky and has a glue-like touch when cooked.

What does rice with the label ‘gluten-free’ mean?

According to Food and Drug Administration, foods should only be labeled gluten-free if the product’s gluten is less than 20 parts per million. Examples of foods with these labels are;

  • Prepared food that does not have a gluten-containing ingredient
  • Naturally gluten-free food
  • Food that is not cross-contaminated with gluten-containing ingredients during processing
  • Food with a gluten-containing ingredient that has gone through processing to eliminate the gluten

What are the safest brands of rice that have no gluten?

Sometimes it’s difficult to tell if the rice you purchase is indeed gluten-free as the package claims. Most manufacturers will claim their products have no trace of gluten only to get disappointed later. If gluten reactions frequently attack you because of cross-contaminated rice, you may need genuine brands such as;

Alter Eco

Alter eco company is a certified gluten-freeselling firm that will provide you with the kind of rice you want. It focuses on exotic sustainable foods, meaning extensive care is provided to ensure no gluten contact through rice farming or production.

Lundberg family farms

This brand sells varieties of rice. Whether you want gluten-free, plain rice, rice mixes, or flavored rice, whatever you want, you’ll get. It only produces rice products, which guarantees no cross-contamination of gluten in food Production.

Rice mixes that are safe for gluten-free dieters

Rice mixes usually interfere with the non-gluten ability of rice. While the rice itself tends to be gluten-free, its ingredients will introduce the gluten compound. Even so,certain rice mixes are safe for consumption. They include;

Mahatma rice

They label their rice types as gluten-free. Their Spanish rice, seasoned yellow rice, long-grain, wild rice mix, and cilantro lemon jasmine rice are tasty and contain no gluten. However, always double-check their labeling and the ingredients to confirm no gluten is present.


It offers a wide range of flavored rice mixes and has flavors like organic turmeric, soy and ginger, and organic sesame. You can chooseyour desired aromas. It’s certified by Gluten-FreeCertification Organization(GFCO), and so can you have your complete trust with this option.


If you’re looking for a recognizable choice, this is what to reach to. The owner is food and spice manufacturer McCormick and company. It offers more than 20 flavored rice mixes that have less than 20ppm gluten-which is the legal limit.

Rice mixes to avoid

Some brands sellrice mixes that have gluten. These companies include; Rice-A-Roni, Near East Rice Pilaf,Knorr Rice Sides,and Uncle Ben’s flavored rice. It’s always wise to look at the food labels before buying products,especially if you’re allergic to certain ingredients like gluten. What are the benefits of taking gluten-free rice?

Maintaining a gluten-free diet is a lifetime requirement for individuals with celiac disease. Even so, healthy people can also benefit from following the same diet. Avoiding rice with gluten and staying away from cross-contaminated rice will give you impressive results. You’ll have improved health; it’ll help you lose weight, improve your gastrointestinal health, and enhance your athletic performance.

What are the dangers of consuming too much gluten-free rice?

Foods with gluten offer essential vitamins and other nutrients to the body. Whole grain bread and its counterparts will give you iron, calcium, fiber, thiamine, riboflavin, folate, and niacin.Gluten-free rice will not provide the same levels of these nutrients. More so, some gluten-free ricehavehigher amounts of fat and sugar than the gluten-containing types, which makes them unhealthy.

What is the cost comparison between gluten-free and gluten-containing rice?

Expect to spend more if you decide to invest in gluten-free rice. This version of food tends to cost more than gluten-containing rice due to its health benefits. The expense may be substantial, but it’s worth it, and the cost will depend on the brand you’re buying from. Ensure you pick what you can afford, but don’tsacrifice the quality of the product in the name of wanting to spend less.


Gluten-free rice is a great option for individuals with celiac disease and people having any medical issue connectedto gluten. It’s also beneficial to any individual determined to improve their overall health and stay healthy. This type of grain is naturally gluten-free as long as it’s plain and not contaminated with any ingredient containing gluten.


We would like to thank the below contributors who have helped us to write this article:

Self bond age

Nutritionist, Cornell University, MS

I believe that nutrition science is a wonderful helper both for the preventive improvement of health and adjunctive therapy in treatment. My goal is to help people improve their health and well-being without torturing themselves with unnecessary dietary restrictions. I am a supporter of a healthy lifestyle – I play sports, cycle, and swim in the lake all year round. With my work, I have been featured in Vice, Country Living, Harrods magazine, Daily Telegraph, Grazia, Women's Health, and other media outlets.

Latest from Health