GLUTEN IN OATS?-THIS IS THE TRUTH

GLUTEN IN OATS THIS IS THE TRUTH-min

Oats areamong the healthiest cereal grains that exist today. With them,you’ll gain carbohydrates, fiber, protein, and many other important nutrients. More so, they’re ideal for individuals with celiac disease.

If you’re a cookie lover or you like baked foods and snacks like Greek yogurt, you’ll vouch for oatsawesomeness. Oats are used in many foods, and theiressential properties make them safe for most individuals, especially those avoiding gluten in their diet. However, some individuals may receive negative effects after consuming oats. For this reason, there is an ongoing arguementationon whether or not oats have gluten. Let’s clear the contradictions anddive into this article to find out the real truth about gluten in oats.

Any gluten in oats?

Gluten is found in grains like barley, rye, wheat, and triticale. While oats are grains, they donot fall in gluten-containing categories, so they’re safe for people following a gluten-free diet. Naturally,oats don’t have any gluten in their structure. However, most oats products packaged and sold in supermarkets may contain gluten, making the foodstuffs unsafe for sensitive individuals. Not many people apprehend why this is, but worry less; we’ll slowly make you understand.

How come oats are not gluten-free if they don’t naturally have gluten?

Two things can make any food contain gluten. One, grains naturally have it, and they include wheat, rye, barley, among others. Any product obtained from these grains will obviously contain gluten unless the item is taken through a special process to make it gluten-free. The other way a product can contain this protein is through contamination. This happens when items that should not have gluten get it during the production process. Oats fall into the second instance. They get contaminated because they’re grown next to wheat most of the time and more often processed on the same machines used on grains containing gluten. When wheat seeds mix with oats, the final product will be tampered with. The product may lose its truetexture and taste, and it’ll contain substances it did not have initially.

How much gluten is in oats?

You may think, why should people raise concern for only one bit of rye or barley in oat? Well, that one seed can have a huge negative impact on gluten-sensitive individuals. If you have celiac disease orhighly react to gluten, you may have to avoid oats productsbecause it’s difficult to identify the real gluten-free oats.

Is it possible to eliminate gluten in oats?

Eliminating gluten in oats can be difficult. The common phrase ‘prevention is better than cure’is quite useful here. The only way to avoid gluten-containing seeds from contaminating your oats is by avoiding the interaction. Ensure by no chance your oats are exposed to contaminative grains. You can achieve this by growing oats in a separate place, and the machines you use for processing them should not be the ones used on glutinous grains.

Does contamination affectvitamins and minerals found in oats?

If a glutinous substance gets into your oats, the nutrients are unlikely to lose their nutritional value. The main effect will be the introduction of gluten which will harm individuals restricted from glutinous products. Otherwise, oats will still contain calcium, manganese, iron, zinc, copper, magnesium, and phosphorus even after contamination. They’ll also have selenium, choline, lutein, and B vitamins.

Does consuming oats cause any risks to your health?

 Oats are healthy, and having them in your diet will help your body with healthful carbohydrates, fiber, and important nutrients. The ingredients and topping you supplement on them may increase calorie and decrease nutrition density making it less helpful to your body. The healthiest option is raw, steel-cut, and unprocessed oatmeal. The processed versioninterferes with the nutritional content, and because your body will digest quickly, such oatmealswillraise yourblood sugar levels and cause other undesirable effects.

Which is safe, cooked or raw oatmeal?

All oatmealsare healthy, whether cooked or raw. Cooked version allows you to improve other meals’ tastes deliciously and enjoyably. To prepare oatmeal, take 2 cups of water, add 1 cup of oat, and boil as you stir for around five minutes. Once it’s ready,use it to top your yogurt, dried fruit, walnuts, or cinnamon. Raw oat can make a great meal when used to top nuts like almonds or walnuts. You’ll enjoy the crunchiness, and every bite will add great value to your health. However, raw oatmeal may lower the effectiveness of absorption of minerals due to its content in phytates compounds. You can make it safe by soaking your oats to reduce the phytates and reduce digestibility difficulties. You have different ideas of soaking your oats, such as leaving it overnight, adding cinnamon to introduce a sugary and woody flavor, adding banana, or sprinkle chia seeds. Choose whatever sounds more appealing to you. Instead of using wheat flour on baked goods, use oats as a healthier option.

What are the types of oats?

  • Steel-cut oat-it takes a longer time to cook compared to other types. It goes through minimum processes and is rich in fiber along with naturally present minerals and vitamins.
  • Oat groats-they take about 60 minutes to cook. They have no flakes or cuts, and no grinding is used.
  • Instant oats-similar to oat groat but steamed and flaked. It’s best for people who want simple
  • Rolled oats-also known as old-fashioned or regular oat groats, and they’re are streamed then rolled into flakes
  • Scottish oats-they are similar to steel cuts but grounded instead of being cut

Conclusion

Oats arethe right alternative for individuals sensitive to gluten. Regular consumption of oatmeals will provide you with enough nutrients that you may not get from other foods. Use them on different meals and for different purpose to gain full benefits from this important grains.While they are safe for most people, you may have to be careful with the products you use. Some oat items are not gluten-free. Read the ingredient sector and examine the package labels to know the processing methods. If the processing involved gluten-containing grains, avoid it.

Julia Davis

Mental health expert MS, University of Latvia I am deeply convinced that each patient needs a unique, individual approach. Therefore, I use different psychotherapy methods in my work. During my studies, I discovered an in-depth interest in people as a whole and the belief in the inseparability of mind and body, and the importance of emotional health in physical health. In my spare time, I enjoy reading (a big fan of thrillers) and going on hikes.

JOIN OUR NEWSLETTER